Magus v. Engineer: Compare and Contrast

magus01_04Over the last couple of days I have tried literally 6 Destruction classes, most of which I got to level 5 (except for some… R.I.P. poor zealot). After this experience I have settled on one which will be my new WAR main, the Magus. I was a bit leary about trying the Magus at first. The class seemed like a squishy Engineer, and dispite the fact that I LOVED the engineer (I only left it because my buddies rolled Destro), I didn’t want to play the same class again, except an inferior version.

To my suprise, the magus and engineer have been vastly improve since the days of the ‘one-magnet-trick-pony’. Most specs are pretty good, and the classes both have the abillity to compete. Also, the magus and engineer, while similar, are definitely not the same. I find that the magus has quite a few AoE abillities, much more than the Engineer. They also have quite a few good defensive abillities, which are necessary becasue of the much lighter armor they wear (as compared to the engineer). Where as the Engineer’s Tinker spec has a lot of useless gimmiks, followed by the epic Electro Magnet, the Magus has a solid, PBAoE spec in Daemonology, reinforcing their “magnet spell” theme.

On the other hand, (at least to me) Havoc is not as strong as marksman, which has a stronger theme (single target, Direct Damage, lots of one person DOTs, with a AoE DOT that still works for one target). Havoc has good spells, good talents, but less of a theme. Of course I could be wrong, and their spells could be really great, but I’m not sure. Personally, I think that Fire Storm of Tzeentch should be traded with Indigo Fire of Change (from Changing). Fire Storm has a shorter range than most havok spells, as well as it is an AoE spell in a Direct Damage spec, where as Indigo Fire is a long-range, Direct Damage spellin a short-range, AoE DOT spec.

Changing and Grenadier spec seem to be the most similar, except of the aforementioned spell swap, and I really don’t have much to say about it. It is a strong spec, and probably one the majority of Magus’ will take, due to its versatility (it can PvP and PvE well) and relative simplicity compared to Daemonology.

Though the ‘feel’ and ‘theme’ of the Engineer comes through much better than that of the Magus, I have to say, the Magus spell effects and animations are some of the best I have seen in any MMO. I am especially impressed with the arc and throw of Flickering Red Fire, and the swirls from Rend Winds.

I personally like Havoc the most (even though I think it needs a few changes to strengthen its theme) and am really excited to keep playing. I should post some more soon!

One Response to “Magus v. Engineer: Compare and Contrast”

  1. Squishier than an Engineer? Is that possible? 😉

Leave a Reply

