The Call

confusedSo… hard… to resist… addiction!

Its WoW. Its calling, with all of its WotLK goodness. I have to go back, even though i know in my heart of hearts that it will end up being the same. I guess its because I’m in a leveling rut. You see, my character is 18 (don’t laugh, I’m a really slow leveler) and I am done with all of Dwarf chapter 9 and I just want to move on and be 20, or 40 for that matter. I’m sooooooo close, but I just can’t put myself over.

This happened to me in WoW on my first character that I seriously tried to get to the cap on the Alliance. I had a 60 horde undead mage that I leveled really fast, but I did it soley in instances and with friends that played at the same time every night. You see, I had really never leveled alone before. On my mage I was trying new things because I had always been a healer, but I was still in a static group, so I didn’t get a feel for soloing. I had been an Empathy/Dark hero in CoH and Monk in GW and had mostly been tied to a group the whole time. Soloing with my priest was painful. I got to 52, 6 levels from Burning Crusade, with its condensed leveling paths, and less travel, and stopped. I couldn’t do it. I spent 6 months at 52, and played barely any WoW. I’m not a fan of alts, so when my main got boring, I couldn’t play.

Then, I got off of school for week and decided to try WoW again just to see how I’d like it. At first my friends thought it was just another pass through, that I wouldn’t play very much. Then I dinged 53, and they joked about how it would be 10 years before i dinged 70 at the rate I was going. They couldn’t know how wrong they were. I dinged 70 on Saturday at 2 in the morning. It just all clicked. I started leveling at breakneck speed, and the game was fun again. That lasted for a month, and then I hit another doldrum, but that ended when we started raiding Kara as a guild. I was the Main Heal and I had some of my best MMO time for 4 months.

Then it stopped. We didn’t have enough people to get into a 25 man raid. We had cleared and gotten everything from Karazan and Zul’Aman. We didn’t want to join other people’s raids because they were too strict. Somehow we always were able to party and raid at the same time, while progressing. I tried leveling an alt to 70, and suceeded, but that was it. WoW was over for me.

So now I’m in the same position with WAR. I know I like the game, but I’m in a duldrum. I know that at some point, epiphany will strike and I’ll rank to 40 in all of 2 weeks, but I the wait is killing me. Everytime I log on I just feel bored, not because of the game but because of my mood. Oh yeah, and now there is competition. WotLK is calling, not just because its ‘new’ but because it will allow my small, tight-nit guild to progress in raiding the way we wanted to in BC. Its all so confusing to me, but I know I’ll get through. What I am most happy about, though, is that I’m excited with MMO’s again. I know the cinics are raining from the sky like its monsoon season, saying that “MMO’s have jumped the shark” for them, but I’m content. Competion is good.

One Response to “The Call”

  1. Some of your thoughts echo mine. I’m gonna bite the bullet, and try to spread my time between both games. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

