The Solo Dungeon

I recently did the quest Bitter Blood (yes T2, i know, I’m REALLY behind), where you scale a vampire tower, in the throes of a battle, so you can destroy the vampire’s phylactery. I love the way the quest develops the story and builds to the climax of climbing the tower, which amounts to a single player dungeon. The only part of the quest that I didn’t like was the single player dungeon. This dislike made me really analyze what makes dungeons fun.

When people are asked what makes dungeons fun, they often respond that interesting boss fights, unique settings, and carefully tuned challenge make dungeons enjoyable, and they do. Unfortunately, though, these answers completely miss the underlying question: what makes dungeons fun, that is not specific to any one dungeon.

It is my opinion that it is the experience of being in a team, and completing a task as a coordinated team that makes dungeons fun. Think about it, when people quit raiding, whats their usual complaint? Its that the drama was too much for them. The people were too vicious to allow a fun time. This is why I think that solo or 2 man dungeons would not be fun at all, the team aspect just isn’t there.

When I was climbing the vampire tower, I realized this. Even though I was getting a normal dungeon experience (tricky trash mobs, slightly more tough mini-bosses, and a multi-stage end boss), the fact that it was all me stopped me from having as much fun as i could have. The quest was well designed, and written, but the solo aspect let me down.

2 Responses to “The Solo Dungeon”

  1. When I went up there alone I really enjoyed the place. It’s really nicely designed and has lot of atmosphere.

    I rerun the tower with some guildies and it was still fun, so you aren’t forced to go there alone and miss the group-component in a dungeon. We went there for pure exploration-stuff as there were some champions standing around which would have been too difficult to solo. We just wanted to see what was behind them..
    It was a fun experience..even with no “phat loot”.

  2. Yay a comment! You would be the first commenter on my blog sir! Your prize is… well i don’t have a prize, but you definitely get brownie points.

Leave a Reply

